Isle of Skye

DSCN3839

One night while I was staying with a Syrian refugee in Glasgow, thinking about how I was tired of cities, I just impulsively booked a tour to the Isle of Skye that left the very next morning. I think it was a magnificent decision on my part. Skye was more magical than I ever could have imagined.

DSCN3817

The weather was horrific, but the scenery was otherworldly. I felt like the luckiest person in the world to be able to look out the window and see this.

DSCN3833

DSCN3820.jpg

Seriously, it rained so much that I sort of ruined my camera. It still takes pictures, but I can’t see anything through the viewfinder to this day.

DSCN3921

DSCN3909.jpg

Skye was great in the off-season – it was really cold, but there was hardly anyone else there. Apparently it’s jam-packed with tourists in the summertime, so I felt really lucky that we pretty much had the place to ourselves.

DSCN3896

To my surprise, I got to continue practicing Spanish while I was on Skye, as I made friends with an Argentinian guy in my tour group. He offered me a swig of whisky approximately every ten minutes throughout the three day tour.

DSCN3786

One of my favorite places we visited was the magical fairy glen – it really, honestly felt like I was traipsing around in fairyland. The little hills, the little sheep, the little waterfalls in the distance – it was pure magic.

DSCN3800.jpg

I could have stayed here for hours.

DSCN3791

It was just so enchanting! I really could not believe this place existed and I never even knew about it.

DSCN3924
Eilean Donan castle

The sun finally decided to come out during our last day on Skye. It was lovely, but I think there’s also some kind of mystical beauty to Skye when it’s misty and rainy, too. Either way, I loved it all.

DSCN3931

The autumn colors looked spectacular in the sunlight. Really, everything looked spectacular all the time. Visiting Skye was a dream come true for me, and I still get all excited every time I think about the fact that I actually got to go there. I splurged a little bit for this excursion – I think it cost me almost £200 in total – but I have no regrets. Just wonderful memories.

DSCN3927

Leave a Reply

